Author Topic: Can't afford a lathe? Just add concrete...  (Read 4741 times)

Offline AdeV

  • Madmodder Committee
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2059
  • Country: gb
Can't afford a lathe? Just add concrete...
« on: April 17, 2012, 09:38:17 AM »
... no, really!

http://makeprojects.com/Project/The-Multimachine-150-12-Inch-Swing-Metal-Lathe-Mill-Drill/1751/1

Interesting stuff... a DIY lathe made from concrete for ~$150. Make it big enough and it will be just as immovable as a real cast iron one!
Cheers!
Ade.
--
Location: Wallasey, Merseyside. A long way from anywhere.
Or: Zhengzhou, China. An even longer way from anywhere...
Skype: adev73

Offline Divided he ad

  • WARNING: LIKES SHINEY THINGS
  • The Collective
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1949
  • Country: gb
  • Between Chester, Wrexham, ruthin & Holywell :-)
Re: Can't afford a lathe? Just add concrete...
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2012, 11:29:47 AM »
So... When do you start Ade?  :dremel:


 :thumbup:




Nice little find! Dunno if I'll try it though?





Ralph.
I know what I know and need to know more!!!

Offline AdeV

  • Madmodder Committee
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2059
  • Country: gb
Re: Can't afford a lathe? Just add concrete...
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2012, 01:00:01 PM »
So... When do you start Ade?  :dremel:


 :thumbup:


Nice little find! Dunno if I'll try it though?



Hehe - not yet Ralph, I've already got more projects than time.... and given your recent op I think you might be better using something a little lighter than concrete?
Cheers!
Ade.
--
Location: Wallasey, Merseyside. A long way from anywhere.
Or: Zhengzhou, China. An even longer way from anywhere...
Skype: adev73

Offline Divided he ad

  • WARNING: LIKES SHINEY THINGS
  • The Collective
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1949
  • Country: gb
  • Between Chester, Wrexham, ruthin & Holywell :-)
Re: Can't afford a lathe? Just add concrete...
« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2012, 05:49:01 PM »
we've all got more projects than time chief!  :proj:

but you're right about the weight!  :lol:



Still, interesting all the same  :thumbup:




Ralph.
I know what I know and need to know more!!!

Offline BillTodd

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 789
  • Country: 00
  • Colchester Essex (where the lathes were made)
Re: Can't afford a lathe? Just add concrete...
« Reply #4 on: April 23, 2012, 02:12:28 PM »
Hmmm...

I see a rendered 3D CAD model but no concrete lathe  :scratch:

Has anyone actually made one of these? 
Bill

Offline AdeV

  • Madmodder Committee
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2059
  • Country: gb
Re: Can't afford a lathe? Just add concrete...
« Reply #5 on: April 23, 2012, 06:19:02 PM »
Bill,

There is a photo of one here: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/multimachine/

The design is adapted from a very successful WW1 concrete lathe.
Cheers!
Ade.
--
Location: Wallasey, Merseyside. A long way from anywhere.
Or: Zhengzhou, China. An even longer way from anywhere...
Skype: adev73

Offline BillTodd

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 789
  • Country: 00
  • Colchester Essex (where the lathes were made)
Re: Can't afford a lathe? Just add concrete...
« Reply #6 on: April 24, 2012, 04:51:22 PM »
Bill,

There is a photo of one here: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/multimachine/

The design is adapted from a very successful WW1 concrete lathe.

That looks like a 3d render to me  :scratch:


Bill

Offline AdeV

  • Madmodder Committee
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2059
  • Country: gb
Re: Can't afford a lathe? Just add concrete...
« Reply #7 on: April 24, 2012, 07:31:27 PM »
That looks like a 3d render to me  :scratch:

Hmm, you could be right.

It's a damn good render if it is one.
Cheers!
Ade.
--
Location: Wallasey, Merseyside. A long way from anywhere.
Or: Zhengzhou, China. An even longer way from anywhere...
Skype: adev73

Offline ldsgeek

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Can't afford a lathe? Just add concrete...
« Reply #8 on: April 25, 2012, 07:15:37 PM »
It is a render. You can see the faceting on the pulley at the left.