Author Topic: Dividing Attachment Idea help needed  (Read 6328 times)

Offline jcrous

Dividing Attachment Idea help needed
« on: September 29, 2012, 03:59:21 PM »
Hi,

I am now drawing an Indexing tool for my mini mill, based on the Harold Hall Design, but I will make use of what I have available in my garage,
It will be a direct indexing one with five sets of holes in one plate, 90, 80, 72, 60 and 48.
The main body will be of aluminum. the base plate of bright mild steel, as well as the spindle.
The indexing plate will be of brass and there will be 80mm chuck added.
the green handle will be the spindle lock - forcing a brass pad against the spindle (I am still learning the CAD program so please excuse the bad design).
The plunger will have to penetrate the indexing plate from the left (back) of the picture because there is not enough space to penetrate from the right to the left. The innermost set of holes will be well between the plate and the main body. The operator must turn the spindle by grabbing the Index plate as a handle after the lock has been disengaged.

The spindle is now bored through 8mm, and I will see if I will add a MT 1 hollow.

My question is to find a simple plunger design that will work with this design. I don't mind to make use of a screw-in type of plunger. This will most probably more sturdy than the type that is spring loaded (and easier to make).
Regards

Johan

Offline Lew_Merrick_PE

Re: Dividing Attachment Idea help needed
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2012, 12:50:33 PM »
Johan,

The devil is in the details and the image is not clear on some of them.  Does the index plate spin with the spindle (i.e. the index pin is stationary) or is the index plate fixed (i.e. the index pin rotates with the spindle)?  Each approach has its advantages and disadvantages.