Author Topic: Hello  (Read 4701 times)

Offline RossJarvis

Hello
« on: August 18, 2013, 11:27:00 AM »
Hello all!

A friend of mine, PeteW has shown me this site and I thought I'd join up as we share common interests.  Well, I helped him dismantle the shed he is currently mantling (or is that remantling?).  Maybe I can remember where we lost all the fastenings?

I am currently employed as an instructor teaching people how to make iron filings and swarf in a college on the south coast (or at least I was until they gave me too much to do and I went off sick).  So I have some experience in turning and fitting and a bit of basic knowledge on a Bridgeport vertical mill (which uses Imperial measurements, not those Godless French millipedes).

I would say I'm a bit of a bodger as I also have City & Guilds Carpentry & Joinery on top of the Turning, Fitting and CAD quals, but that probably does a disservice to the fine skills of a decent Bodger.

Currently about to build a timber framed log store for the lady next door, but that may be off topic for this site.
Procrastination; now is that an art or a craft skill?

Offline Pete W.

Re: Hello
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2013, 12:50:10 PM »
Hello all!

SNIP 

Well, I helped him dismantle the shed he is currently mantling (or is that remantling?).  Maybe I can remember where we lost all the fastenings?

SNIP

Hi there, Ross, and welcome.

We didn't lose any of the fastenings, we put them in an empty ice cream container that then got stacked with all the other ice cream containers!   :bang:   :bang:   :bang: 
Best regards,

Pete W.

If you can keep your head when all about you are losing theirs, you haven't seen the latest design change-note!

Offline Meldonmech

« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2013, 02:15:31 PM »
Hi Ross,
                   Welcome to MadModder look forward to reading your post, imperial or metric.

Cheers David

Offline tom osselton

« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2013, 02:39:17 PM »