Author Topic: Sidewheeler project - Intro  (Read 3619 times)

Offline richard orr

Sidewheeler project - Intro
« on: September 29, 2013, 06:03:52 PM »
  Howdy from Arkansas.
I have been building a 39' sidewheel steamboat for about 17 yrs. and am closing in on the project. The boat will steam with a home built  12" x 11" double acting grasshopper steam engine. The boiler will be a low pressure monotube modified Lamont design. We are going to take a trip up the Mississippi R. and learn what there is to be  learned about life from a different perspective...one of adventure and wonder from not knowing what lies around the next bend. It has been a long haul with 5 children having been delivered at home and another one to arrive in two months.
  The project has proceeded along organicly without plans and many changes from the original concept have occured and probably will continue to change before completion.  One of the big changes currently is that I have decided to not use the  clapped out circa 1908 5 x 8 double acting that I cut my teeth on learning to machine. It sits now done but will go to shop use  in the future. I  will instead use a large 12" x 10" cylinder that I found early on in the days of begining this project. Here is the story of finding that cylinder.
  Not knowing where to get an engine, I started fishing around town, asking ol' timers if they knew of any old steam engines lying about on somebodys farm. That led me to a farm out on Dead Horse Mountain, so named because that is where all the dead horses in Fayetteville were taken to be burried. The farmer there told me, "Yea, there was an ol traction engine lying about out in the south 40". Hunting around though, revealed nothing but a few scraps of metal and it was suppose that a tennant had already scrapped the engine.  And so , I headed off to the local scrap yard on the remote chance it could be found.