Author Topic: Hello from France  (Read 9196 times)

Offline northumbrian

Hello from France
« on: November 16, 2013, 01:57:47 AM »
Hello,

I am British Gunsmith, now living in France.

For years I've alway worked for someone else, and now I am setting up shop for myself.

I've got a lot of experience, but I always think there is plenty to learn and there is alway someone cleverer than yourself.
So thats why I'm here, to find those cleverer than myself, and maybe be the clever one someone else needs.

I've been for last few months getting the house finished, and now I've been able to get on and start working on the machine shop.
Almost got my work bench finished, just a few finishing touches left, I've got one Lathe my old Harrison L6 wired up and running.
Just got to get the Aciera F3 mill rewired, and the Hardinge HC wired up, and I'll be ready to go.

As I have found getting the tooling I need is rather difficult & expensive over here, I've bought a Clarkson Mk2 Tool & Cutter grinder, so my plan is to get into toolmaking, so if there are any toolmakers on here I love to pick your brains.

Offline AussieJimG

• In Memoriam
Re: Hello from France
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2013, 02:41:21 AM »
Welcome Northumbrian, you will find plenty of like-minded people here.

Jim

Offline awemawson

• Global Moderator
  • East Sussex, UK
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2013, 03:49:24 AM »
Welcome aboard Northumbrian. Lots of toolmaking and sharpening 'happenings' round here so I think you've arived in the right place. Where abouts in France are you?

Andrew
Andrew Mawson
East Sussex

Offline Meldonmech

« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2013, 03:54:32 AM »

Welcome to the forum, look forward to your posts

Cheers David

Offline Stilldrillin

• Global Moderator
  • Staveley, Derbyshire. England.
« Reply #4 on: November 16, 2013, 03:55:04 AM »
Hi Northumbrian!  :wave:

Welcome to the Collective.  :borg:

With your background and experience, we should get along very nicely.  :thumbup: