Author Topic: CARRIAGE LOCK  (Read 6851 times)

Offline reel jon

CARRIAGE LOCK
« on: March 23, 2009, 04:30:18 PM »
will using a 16mm square bar of aluminium across the carriage be strong enough, going to use the existing holes for the steady  that are drilled and tapped in the factory, and drop a bolt down to a locking piece under the ways, any views from you Journeymen modders are most welcome as i am an apprentice modder. I will post some pics when done  :thumbup: 

bogstandard

Re: CARRIAGE LOCK
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2009, 06:04:51 PM »
Usually Jon, the carriage lock is built into the lathe, not as an external accessory.

Once you show us a pic of what you mean, that would be the best time to give you a bit of advice.

John

Offline reel jon

« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2009, 01:08:55 PM »
me again, forgot to say its a mini lathe, i have had a go and this is the result not high precision but it seem to work ok, apart from the bolt head fouling the cross slide i didnt have the right length bolt and my time ran out a small hacksaw exercise is called for
« Last Edit: March 24, 2009, 01:10:52 PM by reel jon »

Offline Darren

• Madmodder Committee
  • N/Wales
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2009, 01:33:12 PM »
I did something similar to mine and then John Bogs did something even better to it for me.

But I see your casting is different to mine, what's the other side like?

There is a pic in my/Johns mini lathe bedway machining thread.

You will find it a distinct help… if you know and look as if you know what you are doing. (IRS training manual)

Offline Darren

• Madmodder Committee
  • N/Wales
« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2009, 01:36:09 PM »
You will find it a distinct help… if you know and look as if you know what you are doing. (IRS training manual)

ja2on

« Reply #5 on: March 24, 2009, 02:33:47 PM »
this commercially available carriage lock is stepped down in the centre for more clearance