Gallery, Projects and General > The Design Shop

Drilling stainless steel

(1/3) > >>

Bangkok Mick:
I have just finished making a pen out of 316 S/S reinforcing bar. I used HSS drill bits 2mm followed by a 3mm to drill the 6mm bar for a ballpoint refill on my 7x14 Chinese mini lathe. I plan to make a few more to give as presents, can anyone suggest a better drill bit to hollow core the bar, approx. 50mm from each side, to make the work go easer.

Cheers Mick

Dawai:
Zen of drilling deep holes: forget where that book came from, mostly it was about sharpening a drill bit equally and applying the right forward cutting speed to the type metal, quality of bit, too much pressure and it went offcenter, drill bit not perfect and it went off center.
 I found a eye loupe with angles engraved in it to look at drill points, bought a carbine sharpener from HF, built a tool quorn according to NORM (he's here) and proceeded to mess up a few drill bits learning.  Then i graduated to a computer and camera microscrope, with a drill angle and center etched over the image coming in from the camera.. One side needs to be about half a shaving further back than the other side.
   Lemme look for that very special post on sharpening drills. Not sure where the book is, or went to. I am sure I loaned it to someone.

I HATE drilling stainless.. it is not really that tough, but curls up around the cutting edge like aluminum does, once it spins and the chips turn blue, you are done for. NO drill bit works.

Drilling electrical stainless panels.. now you are going to mock, laugh giggle till you try this.. I have taught 60 year old ironworkers, plumbers and steam fitters this trick. It was taught to me by a guy with not enough education or Iq to find his way to work some days..