Author Topic: Can the Sieg X2 Mill make T-Slots?  (Read 18229 times)

Offline MetalMuncher

Can the Sieg X2 Mill make T-Slots?
« on: March 12, 2014, 11:34:36 PM »
I can't seem to find the answer here by searching, so I thought I would ask if any of you using a typical mini-mill like my Homier Speedway model has ever milled T-Slots with it?

I made a tool plate table for the top of my 3" Grizzly rotary table. It is 6061 aluminum .800 thick and 6" in diameter. I would like to mill T-slots in it so I can mount work pieces using them. I have been using this mill for 9 years, have made lots of modifications, including a 3 axis DRO-350, and most recently the stiffening  bolster plate on the back of the column to make it much stronger. So I think the hardware is up to the task. But is the stock motor strong enough?

From what I have read, the typical way to do it is to mill a slot for the center of the T-Slot and then use a T-Slot cutter to make the "head" grooves, but this has to be done in a single pass. Seems like quite a cut to be making. However, since adding the stiffening plate, I found with a 3/8" end mill I can take 0.1" deep cuts in aluminum without worry. So perhaps this would be possible? But I also saw the 1" end mill I have stall the motor (I have the LMS belt drive conversion) when I tried to do a 0.050" deep pass across aluminum with it. I know the mill is rated at 1/2" end mill max, but I've done a lot of things on this mill that I would say go above and beyond its intended function. :)

I am not sure what size T slots I want to use, but making them the same dimensions as the mill table would allow me to use the hold down kit I have for it on the rotary table too. However, I have seen some smaller scale hold down kits, so if need be I could use smaller slots.

Offline John Rudd

Re: Can the Sieg X2 Mill make T-Slots?
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2014, 07:13:36 AM »
 Short answer is yes....