Author Topic: Mill Drill problems  (Read 18780 times)

Offline PJW

Mill Drill problems
« on: May 09, 2014, 09:00:28 AM »
Hi I have a clarke mill drill x2 type machine, I have now broken the gear in the headstock for the second time now, I did have a spare so I am not stuck. is there a belt conversion available for this type of machine? I have tried to replace my spare but cant get one till the end of the month :doh:
 can anyone help please?

Peter
Old Guys Rule the Dark Side of the Shed!

Offline awemawson

• Global Moderator
  • East Sussex, UK
Re: Mill Drill problems
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2014, 09:19:55 AM »
Bad luck

I have no experience of this machine but the questions occur to me - why two broken gears in such a short time? What material are they made from? Are you perhaps overloading the machine? I'd imagine it's probably a standard imperial or metric size, though the bore may be a special. There are specialty gear suppliers 'out there' who can supply over night if needed.

I use HPC, but google will find others

http://www.hpcgears.com/
Andrew Mawson
East Sussex

Offline John Rudd

« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2014, 09:28:06 AM »
There are many variants of the X2 mill....and a number of variations on a belt drive.
I converted mine ( a Chester offering) to belt drive using the Jerry Rollet plans and have never looked back.....

There are metal gears about but I dont see the point as the belt conversion makes the machine so much quieter......

Drop me an email and I'll forward you a copy of the plans if you want to go this route..........
eccentric millionaire financed by 'er indoors

Offline Deko

« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2014, 10:25:58 AM »
Hi Peter,