Author Topic: An Electric Bicycle  (Read 69053 times)

Offline ivansgarage

• Ivan's Garage
Re: Sourcing DC motors in the 24-48v, 500+ watt range.
« Reply #25 on: June 01, 2014, 08:45:20 AM »
Here is a great place for dc motors.  http://www.robotmarketplace.com/products/npc_ungeared_motors.html

I have been running the black maxx on my bike for the last 6 years.
http://ivanbennett.com/e-cycle.html
Ivan's Garage
Web Site  http://ivanbennett.com 
Forum  http://ivanbennett.com/forum

Offline vtsteam

• Global Moderator
  • Republic of Vermont
« Reply #26 on: June 01, 2014, 09:18:30 AM »
The heat load if the above calculation is correct will be ~60 watts at full power. So think of a 60-75 watt light bulb.

On the plus side for cooling this is a relatively open frame motor made largely of aluminum with an outrunner spinning around, and the bike is traveling, so in early tests just put a hand on the motor perodically -- the best temperature gauge for this kind of thing. And if it feels hot, add a fan.

Steve you mentioned questions about motor torque. Given the RPM and assumed power, seems it should be possible to solve for torque. Looking it up on the internet I found the equation:

power = torque x 2pi x rotational speed

so

torque = power(watts)/ (revs per sec * 2pi)

so

torque = 500/ (5700/60 * 6.28)
torque = .84 Newton meters (or .62 foot pounds)

A 26" wheel at 30 mph is doing 388 rpm (if I also got that right --- better check that, too) so your final reduction is maybe 5700/388  or 14.7 to 1.

If you had a 3 to 1 sprocket ratio on the chain drive, your gearbox ratio would be 14.7 / 3 or about 5 to 1.

So torque out of the gear box would be about 5 x .84 = 4.2 Nm or 3.1 ft lbs at that speed.

Could be a lot of incorrect assumptions or outright units blunders here.....  take with a grain of salt!     :doh:

I love it when a Plan B comes together!
Steve
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4sDubB0-REg

Offline S. Heslop

• Newcastle Upon Tyne